In Honor of Veteran’s Day

We are coming up very quickly on Veteran’s Day, a rough day, but also a day of remembrance and honor in our home. 

 Between my husband and I we have had quite a few family members who have served in the military. On my side of the family I have an uncle, a great uncle, and a grandfather who was in the reserves. On my husband’s side there are quite a few as well, most important, his father.
 
I made this layout for the soldiers who never make it home, for those who are never identified, whose families don’t know what happened to them. This photo is very precious to me, because I feel that every soldier, no matter what country, what religion, what ethnicity deserves to be recognized, thanked for their service, and remembered. 
 
The photo is of one of the most recognizable national monuments in the United States, The Tomb of The Unknown Soldier in Arlington National Cemetery in Arlington, VA.
 
For those who have never been there  – the saying on the tomb says –
 
“Here rest in honored glory, An American Soldier, Known but to God”.
 
Image
 
I wanted to do a very simple layout that kept the focus on the tomb, not on the elements, or anything else. This kit was perfect for this picture – simple and beautiful! I used ‘Their Service Remembered’ by Ginger’s Scraps -n- Pixels and you can find the kit here:
http://gingersscrapsnpixels.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=67&products_id=75

Leave a comment

Diary of a Not-So-Angry Asian Adoptee

Mom, wife, adoptee, advocate, former HuffPost contributor, and somewhat self-deprecating and neurotic goofball.

Tipsy Crafting with an Oddball Mom

Crafts and trash talk that even drunkards can follow!

The Fairywingsandthings Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

kathykoenig

A great WordPress.com site

mom2aprincess

Scrapping memories for my little princess